laden, even geduldannuleren

EPOS - European Paediatric Ophthalmological Society


2017 letter of the president of EPOS

Dear Members and Friends of EPOS,


The year 2016 has been a year with a lot of EPOS activities. To spread knowledge about Paediatric Ophthalmology, EPOS organized a well attended symposium at the WOC in Guadalajara, Mexico and collaborated with WSPOS in the organization of the subspecialty day in Copenhagen preceding the ESCRS.


Our 42nd Annual Meeting in Zurich, Switzerland 23-25 September 2016 on “Paediatric Neuro-Ophthalmology” was very well attended being very successful with many excellent lectures. Our local hosts Gabriela Wirth Barben, Prof. Klara Landau, Christina Gerth-Kahlert and Veit Sturm organized an excellent scientific and social program and I would like to congratulate them.


To encourage young colleagues to join our society and to promote research on paediatric ophthalmology, it has become a tradition to give grants and awards to EPOS members younger than 35 years at the annual meeting. Best presentation award was given to Inge Sarens from Belgium, best rapid fire presentation award was given to Fabienne Fierz from Switzerland and best poster award was given to Marguerite Cullen from USA. Also two travel grants were given to Kavita Aggarwal from UK and to Muhammad Nazmul Haque Kallol from Bangladesh. We congratulate them for their achievement and expect to hear more from them in the future.


At the meeting Gabriela Wirth Barben stepped down after serving our society as treasurer for 8 years. We cannot thank her enough for all the work she has done for EPOS. Also, Alicia Serra and Chris Lloyd stepped down after serving the board for many years. On behalf of the board and all of you I would like to thank them for the great work they have done.

Finally, Darius Hildebrand from UK, Veit Sturm from Switzerland and Catherine Cassiman from Belgium were elected as new board members. We welcome them at the board. The executive board now consists of: Nikolas Ziakas from Greece, President; Eva Larson from Sweden, Secretary; Veit Sturm from Switzerland, Treasurer. Board members are: Darius Hildebrand from UK, Catherine Cassiman from Belgium, Sandra Valeina from Latvia and Anne Cees Houtman from Netherlands. We would like to make the Society grow further and are open to your ideas. Please feel free to contact one of us at any time.


This year our 43rd Annual Meeting will be held in Oxford, UK August 31-2 September 2017 and the main topic will be “Hereditary Retinal

Dystrophies: from genetics to gene therapy”. Our local host will be Darius Hildebrand, who is already working hard to prepare an attractive program with prominent invited speakers that will cover a broad range of topics. As always, free papers and posters are welcomed. The deadline for travel grant application is 7/5/17 and for abstract submission 14/5/17. You will find more details regarding the meeting on our website at Next year the annual meeting will take place in Budapest, Hungary 6-8/9/18.


To support the development of EPOS further, I would like to remind you all to renew your membership for 2017. EPOS members are entitled to free online access to the European Journal of Ophthalmology, application for grants and reduced registration fee at the annual meeting. We strongly advise people to use the continuous membership option which is now available on our new website. As we hope to interest more people in becoming an EPOS-member, I kindly ask you to stimulate many of your colleagues to join our society and come to our meeting.


I hope that 2017 will be another great year for EPOS.


I look forward to meet many of you in Oxford.



Yours sincerely,

Nikolas Ziakas


President of EPOS

Read also...